top of page

2023 Houston Sports Awards Nominees Announced

The sixth annual Houston Sports Awards, hosted by Master of Ceremonies and Astros star Alex Bregman, will be a night to remember and will honor some of the most iconic athletes, legends, and moments of the century. This year two special Houston legends who have made their mark on Houston will be honored as the Executive of the Year and with the Sportsmanship Award.

Executive of the Year – Jim Crane

Houston Astros owner, Jim Crane, is being honored for the second time with the Executive of the Year Award. Crane has been a visionary for Houston, especially as it relates to supporting and amplifying Houston as a sports city. Since 2011, when he bought the Astros, Crane has helped lead the Astros to two World Championship wins. He also led the charge in bringing the Houston Open and the PGA Tour back to Houston.

Crane has always been committed to giving back to the community. Under his leadership, the Astros Foundation has invested in youth baseball and softball, childhood cancer, military, homelessness, and domestic violence. In 2022, The Astros Foundation leaned in on support for the Uvalde community, including a 5-year commitment to revitalizing their little league fields and programming.

Crane is being honored as the 2023 Executive of the Year for his commitment to the city of Houston and his dedication to those in the community.

Sportsmanship Award – José Altuve

José Altuve is known for his positive contributions both on and off the field. Since his start with the Astros in 2011, Altuve has positively impacted the city through his generosity and kindness. Altuve is involved with many organizations around town, including Kid’s Meals Inc., the Astros Foundation’s Community Leaders program, Astros Urban Youth Academy, and most recently, supported Houston non-profit Lily’s Toy Box in an effort to give back to Venezuela.

Along with his charitable contributions, Altuve is well-known for his spirit and determination on the field. Over the years, he has become a fan favorite, helping lead his team and the city to two World Series Championships. Since 2011, he has been honored as an 8x All-Star, 6x Silver Slugger Award winner, AL MVP, and ALCS MVP.

His dedication, passion, and spirit for the city and the game have earned him the 2023 Sportsmanship Award. He follows in the footsteps of Carlos Correa, J.J. Watt, Whitney Mercilus, and Justin Reid, who have all won the award previously.

We look forward to honoring Jim Crane and José Altuve, along with Hall of Fame inductees Elvin Hayes, Bruce Matthews, and Calvin Murphy and Lifetime Achievement recipient Larry Dierker at the sixth annual Houston Sports Awards.

Along, with the announced recipients, four other awards will be presented at the Houston Sports Awards on January 25, 2023, at the Wortham Center. The nominees for those awards are the following:

Athlete of the Year

Alex Bregman, Houston Astros

Jeremy Pena, Houston Astros

Justin Verlander, Houston Astros

Yordan Alvarez, Houston Astros

College Athlete of the Year

Fabian White, University of Houston, Men’s Basketball

Kate Georgiades, University of Houston, Women’s Volleyball

Marcus Sasser, University of Houston, Men’s Basketball

Nathaniel Dell, University of Houston, Football

Coach of the Year

Dusty Baker, Houston Astros

Genny Volpe, Rice University, Women's Volleyball

Jon Kay, North Shore Highschool, Head football coach

Kelvin Sampson, University of Houston, Men's Basketball

Moment of the Year

Houston Astros Win the World Series for the Second Time in Franchise History

Houston selected as a host city for the FIFA World Cup 2026TM

Yordan Alvarez, Historic Postseason Homeruns

Chas McCormick's Catch, in Game 5 of the World Series

All nominees are chosen by the Selection Committee which is comprised of sportswriters and electronic sports media members who live and work in the Greater Houston area.

bottom of page