top of page
24-HSA Strip Background.png
Strip Photo Gallery.png

For the first time, the Houston Sports Awards were held at The Wortham theater in downtown Houston which was originally scheduled to be the inaugural site until Hurrican Harvey forced a change of venue. The HSHOF class honored Houston's legendary 22's, Sheryle Swoopes, Clyde Drexler and Roger Clemens.

While the COVID Pandemic delayed the 4th edition of the Houston Sports Awards, it could not stop it!  For the first time, the annual event was held outdoors at The Club at Carlton Woods.  Honorees included, Craig Biggio, Jeff Bagwell, Andre Johnson, Jim Nantz and UH legends Bill Yeoman and Guy V. Lewis.

The 3rd edtion of the Houston Sports Awards fell in an Olympic year so it was natural that the 2020 honorees had legendary connections to gold medals.  Going into the Houston Sports Hall of Fame in 2020 were Carl Lewis, Rudy Tomjanovich and Mary Lou Retton who would also be the first woman to be enshrined in the HSHOF.

In its second year, the 2019 Houston Sports Awards was the first to honor an incoming class to the Houston Sports Awards since it was initially announced at the end of the 2018 event.  Going into the HSHOF in 2019 were Jackie Butke, A.J. Foyt, George Foreman, and Dan Pastorini, representing the "Luv Ya Blue" era of the Houston Oilers.

2018 was the first year of the Houston Sports Awards.  It was also at this inaugural awards show that the creation of the Houston Sports Hall of Fame was announced, and the first class would be Houston's 34's honored that evening: Earl Campbell, Hakeem Olajuwon, and Nolan Ryan.

bottom of page