top of page

2024 Houston Sports Awards Nominees and Recipients Announced

The seventh annual Houston Sports Awards, hosted by Houston Astros pitcher and World Series Champion Lance McCullers Jr., will be a star-studded evening honoring some of the year's most iconic athletes, legends, and moments. In total, ten awards will be presented at the Houston Sports Awards on January 30, 2024, inside 713 Music Hall in Downtown Houston. The nominees and honorees for those awards are as follows:

2024 Houston Sports Awards Recipients and Nominees/Honorees

2024 Hall of Fame Class - Warren Moon, Cynthia Cooper, and Lance Berkman

All three members of the 2024 Houston Sports Hall of Fame class will be honored and recognized not just for their record-setting achievements on the field, but also for their impact on the Houston sports community. The three inductees were chosen by a Hall of Fame committee, which works to select each class every year. The 2024 Houston Sports Awards will serve as their official induction into the Houston Sports Hall of Fame.

Lifetime Achievement Award - Louis M. Pearce Jr.

Houston native Louis M. Pearce Jr. is being honored for the legacy he made in the Houston community through his 66 years of work at the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo. As the Show’s eighth president, Pearce was instrumental in making an impact that led to growth and long-term success for the yearly event. Pearce helped expand the scholarship program, enhance and expand structures at what is now known as NRG Park and was a key player in signing Elvis Presley as a star entertainer in 1970, a move that Mr. Pearce believed changed the way everyone looked at the show.

Lifetime Civic Champion Award - Sylvester Turner

Houston Mayor Sylvester Turner will receive the first ever “Lifetime Civic Champion Award” for his work in expanding the impact of sports in the city. Over his eight-year term in office, the City of Houston hosted more major sporting events than any other major city in the United States.

Award Categories, Nominees & Honorees

Athlete of the Year

Kyle Tucker – Houston Astros

Hector Herrera – Houston Dynamo

Jane Campbell – Houston Dash

Jalen Green – Houston Rockets

C.J. Stroud – Houston Texans

Newcomer of the Year

Amine Bassi – Houston Dynamo

C.J. Stroud – Houston Texans

Jabari Smith Jr. – Houston Rockets

Tank Dell – Houston Texans

Yainer Diaz – Houston Astros

Moment of the Year

Framber Valdez Throws No-Hitter

San Diego State Buzzer Beater to beat FAU in Final Four

UH wins 1st Big 12 Game with Hail Mary

Texans Draft Night Moves

Dynamo win US Open Cup

Community Impact Award

Jeremy Pena – Houston Astros

Peggy Turner – TIRR Memorial Hermann

Michelle Alozie – Houston Dash

Inspiration Award Honorees

John Metchie III – Houston Texans

Eric Coovert – Kingwood Park High School Football Coach

Doug Dillard – Adaptive Sports Athlete/Bee Abled Foundation

High School Award Nominees

Male High School Athlete of the Year

Jelani Watkins - Klein Forest HS, Track - Atascocita HS, Football

Jaland Lowe - FB Marshall High School, Basketball

Karson Gordon – Episcopal High School, Football/Track

DJ Lagway – Willis High School, Football

Donte Lewis – St. Thomas High School, Football/Baseball

Female High School Athlete of the Year

Ava Brown – Lake Creek High School, Softball

Rylee Grays - Pearland High School, Basketball

Jaele Auguste - Grand Oaks High School, Volleyball

Bayleigh Minor - Fort Bend Christian Academy, Volleyball/Track

Madison Canales – Foster High School, Wrestling

High School Coach of the Year

Michelle Rochinski - Lake Creek High School, Softball

Lloyd Banks - FB Marshall High School, Track

Vincent Grayson – Booker T. Washington High School, Basketball

Jimmy Krueger – Seven Lakes High School, Soccer

Trent Miller – Willis High School, Football

Nominees for Athlete of the Year, Newcomer of the Year, Moment of the Year, Community Impact Award and Inspirational Award were chosen by a selection committee.

High school athletes and coaches were chosen by a committee composed of sportswriters and electronic sports media members who live and work in the Greater Houston area and cover high school sports.


bottom of page