top of page

Harris County - Houston Sports Authority Announces Finalists for 2020 Houston Sports Awards

Mercilus honored with Sportsmanship Award; Crane named Executive of the Year

HOUSTON – On the field, Whitney Mercilus shows no mercy. Off the field, he shows nothing but.

The Houston Texans outside linebacker leads by example and grew up believing that those who are able

must help those in need and he does just that with his WithMerci Foundation. His mission is to serve

children with disabilities in underprivileged families through WithMerci has raised $500,000 since its

inception in 2016.

Mercilus has been actively involved in the Houston community since the Texans picked him in the first

round in 2012. Each of the last three years, WithMerci has focused on children with different disabilities.

This year, the focus is on Down syndrome, while previous focuses have been autism and cerebral palsy.

His commitment and compassion earned him the 2020 Sportsmanship Award. Fellow Texan J.J. Watt

won the award the previous two years.

Houston Astros owner Jim Crane, whose commitment to the city has expanded to include bringing the

Houston Open back to the city and the PGA TOUR schedule after a one-year hiatus, is the Executive of

the Year. The Executive of the Year Award is presented by Mercedes-Benz Dealers of Greater Houston.

Crane balanced the two sports this fall as the 2017 World Series Champions made it to their second

World Series in three years before losing Game 7 to the Washington Nationals. During the American

League Divisional and Championship Series, Crane’s Astros Golf Foundation hosted the new-look

Houston Open at Golf Club of Houston.

A few weeks later, Crane’s vision to bring the tournament back into the city and historic Memorial Park

became a reality as he hit the opening tee shot at the newly renovated Memorial Park Golf Course where

the Houston Open will be played beginning in 2020.

Mercilus and Crane join Lifetime Achievement Award Bob McNair, the late Houston Texans owner, as

the 2020 Legacy Award winners. They will be honored at the Houston Sports Awards presented by

Insperity on January 21, 2020 at the Hilton Americas.

The nominees for six other awards which will be given out on January 21 have also been selected.

Coach of the Year

A.J. Hinch – Houston Astros

Tina Langley – Rice Owls

Bill O’Brien – Houston Texans

Kelvin Sampson – University of Houston

Athlete of the Year

Simone Biles

Alex Bregman

James Harden

Justin Verlander

Deshaun Watson

College Athlete of the Year

Corey Davis – University of Houston

Jalen Hurts – University of Oklahoma

Nicole Lennon – Rice University

Erica Ogwumike – Rice University

High School Athlete of the Year

Devon Achane – Fort Bend Marshall High School

Matthew Boling – Strake Jesuit College Preparatory

Zach Evans – North Shore High School

Libby Overmyer – Kingwood Park High School

Moment of the Year – presented by McDonalds

Jose Altuve’s walk-off home run in Game 6 to clinch the American League Championship

James Harden’s 61-point game in 114-100 win at New York Knicks

Kaycee Feild wins 5th Bareback Riding title at Rodeo Houston

Texans beat Patriots for the first time since January 3, 2010

The third annual Houston Sports Awards will celebrate A Golden Era and will honor Carl Lewis, Mary

Lou Retton and Rudy Tomjanovich as its third Hall of Fame Class.

The Legacy winners are chosen by the Sports Awards Executive Committee with input from the Selection

Committee. The committees are comprised of sportswriters and electronic sports media members who

live and work in the Greater Houston area.


About the Houston Sports Awards

The Houston Sports Awards presented by Insperity will be held on January 21, 2020 at the Hilton

Americas. The Award show will gather together Houston’s top athletes, both past and present, to

commemorate, celebrate and recognize Houston’s top sports achievements, performers and moments.


bottom of page