top of page

Houston Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2023 and Walk of Fame Fountain Unveiling

The Harris County - Houston Sports Authority (HCHSA) concluded its 25th Anniversary celebration with the unveiling of the HCHSA Hall of Fame Fountain at the GreenStreet Promenade. The formal announcement of the 2023 Houston Sports Hall of Fame Class served to highlight the unveiling.

For the past 25 years, the HCHSA has been a key player in the local and international sports community. Over the years, the HCHSA has built four world-class stadiums, brought numerous major sporting events to the city, and created a significant economic impact on the region while positively supporting the local community. Various Hall of Famers were present to unveil the Hall of Fame Fountain on GreenStreet as a culmination of the HCHSA's 25th-anniversary celebration.

The mosaic art installation on the fountain, designed by Hall of Fame artist Opie Otterstad, was inspired by the Houston sports community. It features 13 Hall of Famers, including A.J. Foyt Jr., Andre Johnson, Carl Lewis, Craig Biggio, Earl Campbell, George Foreman, Hakeem Olajuwon, Jeff Bagwell, Mary Lou Retton, Nolan Ryan, Roger Clemens, Rudy Tomjanovich, and Sheryl Swoopes. This fountain will be a focal point for the Houston Sports Walk of Fame and is part of the continued efforts to build the Hall of Fame brand on GreenStreet.

As the Walk of Fame continues to grow, so does the Hall of Fame. After today’s announcement, the 2023 Class of the Houston Sports Hall of Fame includes three of the most iconic athletes of the century - Bruce Matthews, Calvin Murphy, and Elvin Hayes. These three iconic athletes will be honored at the sixth annual Houston Sports Awards presented by Insperity at the Wortham Center on January 25, 2023.

Bruce Matthews is one of the greatest offensive linemen to have played in the NFL. He played nineteen seasons with the Houston Oilers and Tennessee Titans, continuously making his mark on and off the field. Matthews played in an NFL record 293 consecutive games while earning 14 consecutive Pro Bowl selections. Post NFL, Matthews coached with both the Houston Texans and the Tennessee Titans. Matthews had his #74 jersey retired by the Titans in 2002 and was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2007.

Calvin Murphy is a Houston Rockets legend and a Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Famer. Murphy was drafted by the San Diego Rockets in 1970, now the Houston Rockets, and quickly began making history and breaking records. Murphy was one of the best free-throw shooters ever, setting NBA records for most consecutive free throws made and for the highest free throw percentage in a single season (1980–1981). Post NBA, Murphy continued to work for the Rockets in multiple ways and had his #23 jersey retired in 1984.

Elvin Hayes began playing at the University of Houston in 1965. His most memorable moment came on January 20, 1968, when the University of Houston went up against UCLA at the Houston Astrodome. During the game, Hayes scored 39 points and had 15 rebounds for Houston, ending UCLA's 47-game win streak in what was called "The Game of the Century." From that moment, Hayes continued to play in the NBA for over 15 years. He is a 12-time NBA All-Star, was named to both the 50th and 75th anniversary teams and is a member of the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame. Hayes will have his #44 jersey retired by the Houston Rockets on November 18, 2022.

bottom of page